SCOTUS … a new way, a new truth…

This pastor’s opinion:

God is love and God promises us great joy – His way.
SCOTUS and POTUS are not the way – Jesus is the way and the truth.

The question is will our ultimate joy come through getting what we want or believe we deserve/need or will joy come through what God says is best for us? Each one of us must decide if we are willing to believe and trust in what he says is best. The alternative is to redefine best and redefine love and redefine every other thing based on what we imagine will satisfy our desires. The problem is many of our desires are too small and too temporal and defined by my immediate wants not an eternal perspective. I’m just to limited in my understanding.

Who would think it best to sacrifice a Son to save a people? Who would in the moment think crucifixion was best? Yet Jesus, though desiring not to be crucified and endure the wrath and pain of that cup, endured the cross for the joy set before him… trusting the will of the Father and that what His Father prescribed was ultimately best. Thank you Jesus for listening to the Father, not the desire of your flesh.

Jesus said, “Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love. If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. “These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full.” (John 15:9-11)

No child ever finds ultimate joy and happiness through disobeying the instructions of a loving Father. But every man may find forgiveness, love and great hope through turning back to the love of Christ and resting there.

May the SCOTUS decision result in many turning from disobedience and finding real hope and real joy in the real love of Jesus Christ.

I welcome your opinion in reply.

Leave a comment